May 5, 2013

Rod Stewart's Time Album Review

This is a sponsored review see disclaimer at the bottom of the post for full details.

When I was growing-up my mother had a few artists that she loved and she would listen to them over and over again. I think that many of the albums and songs I know by heart now. One of her favorite artists was Rod Stewart, she would listen to her favorite songs frequently. I tend to follow in my mother's footsteps by listening to the same artists over and over again. I think I may still be stuck music wise in the 80's and 90's. Recently, I was given the chance by One2One network to review Rod Stewart's new album Time.

Rod Stewart has created his first album in 20 years. He has spent 40 years being a rockstar and 30 years being a parent. Now he has his new album Time releasing May 7th, 2013, which marks Stewart's long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced. Stewart's new album was a result of his work on his memoir.

"Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," he says. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record."

Here is a list of the tracks on the new CD:

Time Track Listing:
1. She Makes Me Happy
2. Can’t Stop Me Now
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love

I listened to the CD in the car with my family. My oldest really liked the tempo of the whole CD. For me most of the tracks were a little too mellow for my tastes. I did like the tempo of track 2, the beat was nice and the lyrics were interesting. Here is a list of pros and cons:

  • Variety of tempos, some songs are slow while others are faster paced.
  • Stewart's voice is nice, album flows well together. 
  • The songs seem to fit together well.
  • There are no tracks that stand out as something that I would hate listening to. 
  • Music doesn't seem new. If you like Rod Stewart you will like this album.
  • None of the songs stand out as being a great single. 
  • None of the lyrics are very interesting. 

Along with the release of Time, Stewart is set to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, while American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th. If you are interested in buying the album for yourself you can follow these links:

Disclaimer: I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.


  1. Hi i am a new follower from the blog hop
    this sounds like a fab CD I love the sound of his voice. My daughter is a vocalist and in november she got to sing for Rod at his birthday party. He was really nice to hear and she got to have pictures and everything lol
    If you have time please come visit me at

    1. Thanks for the follow, I already follow you :) What a neat story!

  2. I have to be honest, I am not a fan, but my parents LOVE him....and their anniversary is coming up, so maybe I'll pick them up a copy.

  3. We are more fans of Rod's older rock material. Not too enthused about his current musical directon as he is getting older, but his classic stuff still rocks and is great music.


    1. I like his older music better too.

  4. There's really only a couple songs from yesteryear that I like from him, but I'd be willing to take a listen and see.

    1. I am the same way, but my mother loved him!

  5. My mom loves him. I saw him in a concert w/a friend, he does have a lot of good songs. My all-time favorites though, are the old songs that he remade. I LOVED those (from my grandma's era).

    1. My mom loved him too :) I agree about the remade songs, I like those too!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...